It’s that time

Oh yeah… I’m going there.  The dreaded place that any normal female gets to visit every 28 – 35 days.  Fortunately, or maybe unfortunately, depending on your view, I have never done anything normal.  With the help of medication, I get to experience this lovely place every 26 days.  What’s even better, is that I have to take more medication so that I don’t turn into a bipolar homicidal bitch.

Anywho, I knew these days were coming.  My God, the pills come with a freakin’ calendar, so it’s not like I could exactly forget.  So this afternoon around 2:30 or so, I get all of my caffeine and vitamin enriched energy (yes energy; it’s not code for something else) sucked right out of me.  I seriously thought I was having a narcoleptic episode.  My eyes started to close involuntarily, I could feel the weight of my head, and I knew that had I been home, I would have to take a serious 4-hour nap.  However, within 15 minutes, it was like the whole thing had never happened.

Now, one of the benefits of being abnormal is that I don’t fit the normal PMS profile (thanks AstraZeneca or whoever makes my meds).  During “that time,” it is extremely hard for me to sleep.  I may lay in bed and my eyes may be closed, but in no way am I sleeping.  I swear I can hear everything.  And it pisses me off.  It starts off as anger, then turns into frustration, which then becomes a sobbing mess.  Don’t let the sobbing mess stage fool you… I will most definitely still cut someone.  😉

I hate these days.  My emotions and energy levels are on some strange Tim Burton meets The Devils Rejects kind of roller coaster ride. So while the spouse is snoring so loud the walls are shaking, I am up, writing about how I wish I could have an out-of-body experience when my hormones decide to behave like they are coming down from an acid trip.

Maybe I’ll play a game… maybe that’ll numb my brain long enough to make me sleepy.

Leave a Reply

