NaNoWriMo

It’s official.  I’m crazy.  While this is not news to anyone who knows me, the reason for the declaration  could be.  I write.  (Obviously. This is a blog for gravy’s sake.)  It’s my dream job is to be like Diane Keaton in Something’s Gotta Give.  Sitting at a huge mahogany desk, in my amazing beach house that was expertly decorated by the peeps at Pottery Barn and Anthropologie, and writing.  All day.

Anywho… during one of my many Apartment Therapy surf sessions, I stumbled upon this little thing called NaNoWriMo.  The goal is to write 50,000 words in a month in order to prepare your novel.  I have put together a few of short stories over the years but never gave much thought into what to do with them.  After checking out this website, and the all of the different kinds of writers that participate, I have decided to take all of the ideas and stories that float around in my head and put them on paper… well technically, they’ll be on screen, but you know what I mean.

 

As of this very moment, I only have a little over 7,200 words.  And I have a LONG way to go before I reach 50,000.  They say the key to reaching the goal is to set aside time each and every day and focus on writing.  Honestly, the idea of forcing myself to write sounded more painful than working out.  Fortunately for me, I am finding that the more time I make to write, the more ideas start flowing, and the closer I get to reaching the end.

I have fully accepted that I may not get to the 50k by the 30th, but I’m totally okay with that.  I think I just needed the excuse – maybe push is a better word – to get my ass in gear and actually do something with what makes me insanely happy.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. I’ve labored in the past to get words down. If you have spotify, spend some time finding music that’ll set a scene and spiral into another. Don’t get a playlist going, that’ll just eat up more time. Just one song over and over so it fades into the background after a while, but still sets the mood. I’ve done this with Incredible Orgy of Sound by Radiohead to set the slinky scenes and then Insulin/Wrath of God by Crystal Castles for more high octane and violent scenes. It helps me with description by playing it repeatedly by letting me find the right adjectives to write.

    Just a thought.

    And… Sometimes working out helps… Since that’s more desirable….

    1. I’ve done some with just a playlist of “mood” music… but actually selecting a song for a particular scene would be awesome. I never thought of that. Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. Every time somebody says to just sit there and stare at the screen till a breakthrough happens, I see a floating out with the label insane stamped on their forehead. That said, I do stare at the screen. After a few word wars/sprints (@NaNoWordSprints is very useful), inspiration strikes. Using people as soundboards helps too. Soon you’ll be soaring over 10k then 20k then 30k and so on.

Leave a Reply

